Late to the Party – Uncharted 2: Among Thieves

I didn’t think after playing the first Uncharted game that they could get better. I was wrong. Uncharted 2: Among Thieves was a fantastic addition to the series.

In a lot of ways, Among Thieves was very similar to Drake’s Fortune. The controls were more or less the same, which I enjoyed. I did play the game on “very easy” because I’m a loser I like to play games for the fun and the story (and not be too tempted to throw my controller at my TV). I’ve gotten a little bit better at not falling off of every surface to my death.

Uncharted 2 Train 2

I still fell a few times, though. Source

 

This game was also really pretty, like the first one. It was interesting to see it go from ruins and forests in the first game to a broken modern-day city (and then more ruins) in this one. Although I got tired of jumping on street signs (mostly because I could not figure out that I was supposed to jump on them), most of the time, I really enjoyed exploring all of the settings of the game.

Speaking of jumping, I actually enjoyed the jumping puzzles in this game more than in the first one. There weren’t any that I had had to retry 4,000 times (okay, like 30, but it felt like 4,000). I did spend a good amount of time running around trying to figure out where I was supposed to go, and then felt really dumb when I finally accepted the hint. But once I started the puzzles, they were challenging, but not infuriating.

Uncharted 2 jumping.png

There were a lot of ridiculous last minute saves like this for some reason. Source

Finally, I want to talk about the plot of the story. I’m always skeptical when it comes to sequels, although I’ve been pleasantly surprised before. I’ve always thought Assassin’s Creed 2 was better than the original. I would actually have to say that this holds true for this game as well.

Without getting into any spoilers, the basic story is that Nathan Drake, the protagonist from the first game, is invited to help his friends steal a lamp from a museum that will lead them to find the fabled city of Shangri-la and a massive sapphire called the Cintamani Stone. As it turns out, absolutely nothing is as it seems, and the story is filled with betrayal, danger, and ALL the jumping.

Uncharted 2 Betrayal.png

Oh, the betrayal!!! Source

The villain for this one was fairly forgettable, I would say. But the not-so-villainous characters created enough tension that I didn’t really care about the villain being kind of boring. On the gameplay side of things, I actually found him easier to beat than the villain for the first one, even though how I beat him was a lot more interesting.

Like I said in my last Late to the Party, Nathan Drake is the heart and soul of the series. He remains as good a character inĀ Among Thieves as he was in the first game. I was worried at the beginning of the game that he may have lost his moral core, but as the game progressed, it became clear that that wasn’t true. He was still a great guy and dedicated to keeping his friends safe.

Uncharted 2 Nathan

This is Drake’s excited face. Source

I was also happy to see that Elena (documentary girl from the last game) returns in this game. She also got a lot more character development, which is probably why I remembered her name this time. Again, I don’t want to give anything away, but she and Nathan are really adorable in this game. I’m hoping this is a trend that continues.

Overall, I was really invested in the story and the lives of the characters. Because of that, it was infuriating to have to wait to see how Nathan got himself into the situation we see him at the beginning of the game. Speaking of, the opening was hands down one of the coolest and most stressful game openers I have ever played through.

Uncharted 2 Train.png

So stressful! Source

I really loved this game. I can’t wait to play through Nathan Drake’s next adventure.

uncharted 3 cover

My body is ready.

