Contra Mundum – Episode 5: Why Textbook are SO Expensive

In this week’s podcast, I sit down with Dr. Brenda Ayres, a professor at Liberty University. She has published multiple academic books in her long career. We talked about writing, publishing, and the enormously high cost of academic books.

On a personal note, I have to tell you that Dr. Ayres is the sweetest lady. I originally interviewed her for a school project. A few days later, I realized that I needed a photo that I didn’t have. So I had to inconvenience her twice in row. In return, she bought me lunch. Twice!

“I don’t like for students to buy their own food,” she said.

She’s the best.

If you’re curious about all of the background noise, it’s because we had to record in a busy restaurant at lunch time. I didn’t think it was too bad, so I didn’t bother trying to remove it.

I hope you guys enjoyed the episode. In next week’s episode, I interviewed a friend of mine on the creative side of publishing.

See you next week!