In which I complain about the ’66 Batman movie

I have just watched the movie that reinvented the word “campy.” I’m working on a research project for college that required watching a lot of Superhero movies. I had to pick from certain decades, so I picked the most famous ones I knew of. Of course, that meant I had to watch the 1966 Adam West Batman movie.

And it was painful.

In stead of wasting more time putting effort into writing a well thought out review about it, I figured I’d share my grumpy Facebook posts and let you discover what I thought of the movie that way

  1. Before the campiness really set in hard.

batman-1_li

2. Seriously, how he figured out half of this stuff is the real mystery.batman-2_li

3. I think he used the weapons as, well, weapons, like once.batman-3_li

4. When I was starting to realize which circle of hell I’d managed to stumble into.batman-4_li

5. I wouldn’t have wanted my name in the credits for this movie.batman-5_li

6. Slowly slipping into a camp-induced coma.batman-6_li

7. I think I was in shock at this point.batman-7_li

8. The stupidity of this movie continued to astound me even this far in.batman-8_li

9. I mean, that’s pretty dumb, right?batman-9_li

10. When after more than an hour of pure cheese, I was finally released.batman-10_li

 

I’m creating this post while watching the 1978 Superman, which so far, beats the spandex off of both the ’66 Batman and the other Superman movie I watching today: Superman and the Molemen. Because that’s a thing that exists, apparently.

If you want to see more Superman/Batman grumping, head on over to my other blog and read my review of Dawn of Justice.

7 thoughts on “In which I complain about the ’66 Batman movie

  1. LOL! I’ve only seen bits and pieces of the show, and though I love campy, I see what you’re saying. I have a friend who bought the box set of the Adam West TV show. To each his own, I suppose. 🙂

  2. mattblack42 says:

    I kind of want to watch this, but I also … don’t.

  3. Dr. Mauser says:

    It also has one bit that I find so true in other parts of life. “Some days you just can’t get rid of a bomb.”

    • Oh gosh, that was the dumbest scene. It might have been funny, but it went on for so long it became cringy. But that was a good line. I almost laughed at it.

      • Dr. Mauser says:

        Where I work there is a complicated FAA mandated procedure for getting rid of Damaged parts, and every time I go through it, I think of that scene.

        There’s also a fantastic animated .gif made from it.

Talk to Me

