Wait, what just happened?

I can’t believe I’m writing this post right now, recording for all of human history that Donald Trump won the election last night. I am the definition of incredulous right now. Seriously, can anyone explain to me what the ever-loving crap happened last night?

1108161746

Me yesterday. I think my face says it all.

I thought it was going to be a short night. Hillary would win handily early on, and I could go to sleep with a growing sense of dread. Instead, Trump won Florida off the bat, and I had to settle in. I ended up staying up until they called Pennsylvania around 2 in the morning. And I fell asleep with a sense of amazement… and dread.

I know I’m  not the only one wondering how this all happened. A professor told me this morning that maybe two people knew this was coming: Ann Coulter and Liberty’s president, Jerry Falwell Jr. That may be true, but that leaves the vast majority of media outlets, pundits, analysts, and probably the American public very confused.

Ann coulter.gif

Alright, lady, you called it.

Still, as I sit in the cafeteria at my college, I can see that, although some people (including myself) look a little shell-shocked, life goes on pretty much as usual. People are still buying their morning coffee and posting their problems on Facebook. Students are still sitting around flirting with each other. Construction still goes on outside (always).

Some things never change.

I’m not sure I know what to make of this right now, but I do know one thing: my God is still on his throne. I’m clinging to that like a solid rock in the middle of a river of rapids. It’s going to be an interesting four years, but Jesus is still in control.

Below is the song I sang all the way home from the voting booth yesterday. It helped me. Maybe it will help you.

 

Talk to Me

