This needs to end

I have a 22 page script due by Sunday, but I can’t focus because I watched this video and I’m crying. I’m sorry to dump a heavy post on you guys right after a funny one, but this is important. Just watch.

Guys, I am so tired of hearing about these things happening. I’m angry at the people that think it’s okay to destroy their own neighborhoods, or anyone’s neighborhood, to make a point. But mostly, I’m incredibly heartbroken.

My heart breaks for the police officers, journalists, and citizens who have been hurt in the riots in Charlotte, Baltimore, Ferguson, and everywhere else there’s been unrest in the last few years. It breaks my heart that people are looking at each other like monsters instead of humans. It breaks my heart that hatred is gaining ground while love is pushed aside.

Honestly, I just don’t know what to do. I don’t know that there’s anything I can do. I’m just one person, and my greatest weapon is my words.

It’s just not enough.

I’m the kind of person that hates no one. But I hate this.

charlotte riots.jpg

I hate that this is what our country has come to, and I hate how little I can do to help.

I don’t want to see anyone get shot by the police. But I also don’t want to see people shooting police, looting businesses, or destroying lives and livelihoods in their own neighborhoods.

To the people rioting now, please, for the love of humanity, stop this. You’ll get no where. Riots can only set your cause back and hurt people in the process. It’s a tragedy when someone gets shot by the police, but greater tragedies don’t need to follow it.

If every time a person was shot by the cops, other people didn’t come in to stir people up and cause a riot, then one life would be lost. One family would be mourning. Instead, we get riots that destroy dozens of lives.

I don’t how to fix this, but this has to stop. Somehow.

I want to end this post on a positive note. I watched this next video right after I watched the first one I posted. People like this guy give me hope.

There are people out there, the majority probably, who understand that the way to end violence is not through more violence. Let us hope that their quiet voices can someday drown out the screaming masses.

#FreeHugs

Talk to Me

