Life Update 7/2/2016 (and why I’ve been missing)

Again, I must apologize for being missing for a few months. Although, oddly enough, this time I have a decent excuse. I literally haven’t had wifi for two months. Since a couple days after my last post, I left for camp. There is no wifi at camp. AT ALL.

So, yeah, a good enough excuse if I do say so myself. I’ll have wifi for the next 6-ish hours, and I’ll be making good use of it. Of course, that means Netflix.

But by way of update, I’ll tell you a bit about my summer so far. I’m working at a Christian summer camp again. This will be my… 5th? year doing camp things. However, it is my first year being a counselor. And I absolutely love it.

Being a camp counselor is the coolest thing ever in my opinion. I’m working with day campers at my camp. My kids are 8-12 years old. They are ADORABLE. (Squee). Of course, a few of them are harder than others to deal with, but I’ve found that I genuinely love these kids.

Being a counselor at a Christian camp is even more awesome. It’s not normally every day that I get the chance to teach impressionable young minds about Christ. But at camp, that’s exactly what I get to do. My favorite part of the day is the Bible lesson that I get to do in the mornings. We’re going through most of the major stories of the Bible, and I’m already seeing a difference in these kids’ lives.

So far, in day camp, we’ve seen seven kids give their lives to Christ. THAT is the best part of camp for me. Forget swimming at the lake or shooting arrows. Seeing kids grow in the Lord is the coolest part of this job.

I’ve also been growing a lot in my own walk with Christ. I’ve started reading my Bible and praying in the morning every day. It’s something I’ve been wanting to for a long time, but something has always held me back. Anyway, I’ve been enjoying my quiet times in the morning.

Speaking of mornings, I have to wake up at a just ungodly hour. I wake up every day at 5:45 am. You should know something about me: I am NOT a morning person. Strangely enough, it hasn’t really bothered me too much. I think part of the reason is that I’m enjoying my Bible study. But we as day camp also go to bed earlier than anyone else. I’m usually in bed around 10:30. So I get somewhere around seven hours of sleep every night. I’m functioning surprisingly well, all things considered.

It’s really funny to see how my attitude about sleep has changed since I got to camp. Usually, by 10 pm, I’ll look at the clock and think, “Oh, I can stay up a few more hours.” A couple of days ago, on the other hand, I got into bed and looked at the clock, and it said 9:45 pm, and my immediate thought was, “Oh cool! I’m in bed before 10!”

In other news, I’ve decided that I really love living in the mountains. The views up here near Roanoke are amazing. I know my mom will find this surprising, but I actually really like driving in the mountains. I got to borrow a friend’s car today and drive down to the coffee shop I am currently sitting in. The drive here was just gorgeous. I might want to live up here permanently someday.

I think that’s about all I can think of to update you about right now. Hopefully it won’t be two months before I’m able to talk to you guys again.

 

Tell me about your lives in the past two months in the comments. Have you done anything interesting recently?

Talk to Me

