Dear Target, you’re not being inclusive

Dear Target,

Look, I think it’s nice that you want to be known as the super inclusive store. I mean, the rest of the world just thinks of you as the slightly over-priced alternative to Wal-Mart, but whatever. The thing is that you are not being inclusive.

You may think that you’re being inclusive to the tiniest section of the population by saying that transgendered people can choose which bathroom they want, but you’re actually alienating what constitutes most of your market: women. You are alienating them because you are putting them in danger. When you say that a man can go into the women’s restroom, you also leave the door wide open for perverts.

Listen Target, I understand that you probably weren’t thinking about the perverts that will take advantage of your new policy when you announced it. You just wanted to appease the social justice warriors that scream their shrill little heads off whenever they don’t get their way. I get it, but that doesn’t make it okay.

Here’s the statement you released about the controversy on Tuesday:

Guess what? I don’t feel “accepted, respected, and welcomed” in your store. As a woman, I feel like you just spit in my face. I feel afraid. More than anything, I feel like you don’t care about me. All you care about is appeasing one very tiny and very loud minority.

Look, you gotta do what you gotta do. If you want to endanger the majority to capitulate to the minority, you go right ahead. But until you change this policy, I won’t feel comfortable in your store, and it seems like a whole lot of people agree with me.

Uncomfortable people don’t buy as many things, just so you know.

3 thoughts on “Dear Target, you’re not being inclusive

  1. Derek Edwards says:

    I’m just hoping that at the end of this we can get real doors instead of these dumb stall things. At the end of the day, that’s all anyone is asking for, is privacy. Put a commode behind a door, put the sinks out in the open, and a lot of problems get solved.

  2. matttblack42 says:

    *awkwardly clears throat* I disagree. I meant to comment soon after this post came out, but I’m not a fan of getting too political and/or confrontational with people I like, so I put it off for a surprisingly long time. But screw it, here it goes. (Apologies for the length.)

    I get the fear that perverts are going to abuse the new policy in order to prey on women and children. It’s a reasonable fear, but it’s not supported by any real data that I’m aware of, and trust me, I’ve looked. There are several states in the country who’ve had bathroom laws like this in place for years now, and in any of those states there has yet to be any actual increase in assaults. The rates have stayed exactly the same, although that sure doesn’t stop all the fear-mongering that goes around, stories about men harassing women in bathrooms and getting away with it because they played the trans card, despite the fact that there has been zero cases of such a thing actually happening.

    Sexual assault and harassment is still illegal, and it’s not like there were security guards stationed outside every Target bathroom before the policy was passed, checking everyone’s IDs. That article of the guy taking photos of unsuspecting women was published seven years ago. There wasn’t much stopping guys like that back then either, just like there’s not much stopping them now. The only thing that’s changed is that transgender people can pee in peace, which really shouldn’t be too much to ask for. You said, “I feel like you just spit in my face. I feel afraid. More than anything, I feel like you don’t care about me.” But that’s exactly how a lot of transgender people feel every single day. The difference being that they are much, much more likely to be harassed and assaulted at any public bathroom than you are at Target.

    And because my 10th grade English teacher would be pissed at me if I didn’t include some sources to back myself up, here ya go:

    http://mediamatters.org/blog/2014/03/20/debunking-the-big-myth-about-transgender-inclus/198530

    http://www.rollingstone.com/politics/news/what-its-like-to-use-a-public-bathroom-while-trans-20160331?page=4

Talk to Me

