Dumb Arguments I’m Tired of Hearing

Our society has become incredibly sensitive and whiny and… dumb. So many people try to make arguments about things that offend them, and they just fail miserably. To point out the stupidity (and also just to make fun of silly leftists, because they’re the biggest offenders), I’m making a list of stupid arguments that I’m just tired of seeing.

  1. “Just because you have black/Muslim/trans/whatever friends that doesn’t mean you aren’t racist/Islamophobic/transphobic.”

No. That’s exactly what that means. I’ve gotten this argument before and I used to think that sure, it was fine argument. I thought, well, I guess you could fake it. But no, you really can’t. I’ve had people who called me a friend, but obviously hated me, and we are no longer “friends.” You can’t just pretend to be good friends with someone you hate. Unless you have no soul, I suppose. But most humans will only hang out with and call friends those who they like. If you ACTUALLY have black friends, you are NOT racist. Of course it’s hard to prove actual friends, but in any case, this is a dumb argument.

  1.  Just screaming “You’re racist/sexist/whatever-phobic!” at the top of your lungs.

Please, for the love of sanity, can everyone just stop doing this? It is not an argument. It’s a fallacy. And I mean like a specific one. Ad Hominem. “To the man.” It means that you’re attacking the person’s character instead of their points. It’s like comparing your opponent to Hitler. Everyone knows that once you start doing that, you have no real arguments left. In addition, calling everyone you disagree with racist or sexist waters down the impact when someone actually is. For instance, there actually are real racists in the world, and they do need calling out, but since people now call everyone who disagrees with them a racist, no one will care when one more is added to the mix.

  1.  Saying that your opponent is a “flat-earther”

First, this argument is a another ad hominem. And maybe a straw man. Second, this argument makes you look stupid if your opponent knows anything about history. Most people make this argument in reference to the idea that during the days of Columbus and other great explorers that people actually believed that the earth was flat and if you sailed far enough, you’d fall off the edge. This is not true. People have known for LONG time that the earth is a sphere.

  1. “I should have the right to do what I want with my body.”

Totally agree. Except usually, this is an pro-abortion argument. By the very nature of the issue, we are automatically talking about two separate bodies (three if you want to include the father in the argument). As much as you may want to, you can’t just ignore that the fetus is a completely different human. It may depend on the body of its mother, but it is not actually a part of its mother. If you want to make the case that the comfort of the mother is more important than the life of the child, then be honest, and say that. Don’t give me this “my body” business though. It’s not just about you.

  1. “You’re not part of (whatever-group), so you can’t say anything about it.”

Because slavery would have ended so much sooner if the only people that were allowed to complain about it were the slaves themselves. Let’s face it, sometimes disenfranchised people need other people with more clout to help bring them out of oppression. On another side of the issue, we’re all humans who have highly-functioning brains that are capable of understanding approximately how another person feels despite never having been in that person’s situation. In fact, it may even be useful to listen to what an outsider might have to say. Being on the outside of a situation might bring beneficial ideas and perspectives that people on the inside are too close to see.

  1. “We need stricter gun laws to protect the citizens from guns.”

You mean like make a specific area completely devoid of guns? Like a gun-free zone? Like the same place that nearly all American mass-shootings have happened in the last 20 years? Yeah… More gun restriction is clearly what we need. Just look at the places in the country with the heaviest gun laws. Like Chicago, that bastion of (giggle) tolerance and (snort) non-violence, where the children play peacefully in streets (loud guffaw). Let’s all be like Chicago. It’s only the murder capitol of the US.

  1. “Let’s increase the minimum wage to help people.”

Whenever I hear this one, I have a strong urge to ask the arguer if they flunked economics. This one really should be a no brainer. Q: what happens when you raise the cost of paying people? A: employers don’t make as much. Q: what happens when employers lose money? A: they fire people and raise prices. This is VERY SIMPLE, and I don’t understand why there are that many people out there who can’t seem to grasp this concept. Not only that, but people seem to have a higher opinion of jobs that use the minimum wage. They believe that your local burger-flipper deserves to be paid the same as a trained professional, like an EMT. I guess I can see it. I mean, one saves lives, and one messes up your Happy Meal. Basically the same.

15 thoughts on “Dumb Arguments I’m Tired of Hearing

  1. mobiuswolf says:

    Uncommon sense these days, sadly.

  2. Thanks for this blog post regarding frankly stupid things that shouldn’t be believed; I really enjoyed it and am definitely recommending this blog to my friends and family. I’m a 15 year old with a blog on finance and economics at shreysfinanceblog.com, and would really appreciate it if you could read and comment on some of my articles, and perhaps follow, reblog and share some of my posts on social media. Thanks again for this fantastic post.

    • Glad you liked the post. I checked out your blog, and I think you’re very articulate for a 15-year-old. I’m impressed. One word of advice, however, you might think about changing the fonts. They do look a little childish for a finance blog. Pick something a little thinner, maybe a strong serif. Garamond or Georgia, perhaps. Just a thought. Keep up the good work.

  3. You kind of torpedoed your otherwise valid points by doing the very same thing you accuse others of when you wrote “silly leftists, because they’re the biggest offenders”. You can’t have it both ways – either everyone is entitled to their own views and opinions – including you – or everyone continues with the whining because they’re offended by everything that doesn’t match their own perspective. Also, people can be very crafty about pretending to be something they’re not – I’m sure that, as well-informed as you undoubtedly are, you’re aware of belligerently anti-gay politicians who were subsequently outed or people who claim to be in favor/against something when, in fact, their actions prove otherwise. Pertaining to racism, for one, it’s not only possible for someone to have “friends” that aren’t of their same race/ethnicity and view them as an exception to the rule – people can actually be racist towards to people of their own race. While I agree with your perspective that we all could do with taking a chill pill, I think what is needed is a better way to communicate, discuss and debate issues without resorting to personal attacks.

    • I find leftists silly. I’m not sure how that torpedoes my post. I’m not offended by them. I just think they are silly. I still don’t believe you can actually be friends with someone who you are supposed to hate on principle. But, whatever, you’re entitled to your opinion.

      • The mere thought of being “supposed to hate someone on principle” is really a sad comment on your views. But, you’re right, whatever floats your boat.

      • Um, huh? You must not have understood me. You see, I meant that when you are racist, you hate someone on principle (specifically because of their race). That’s sort of the definition of “racist.” It’s a terrible principle. The comment says nothing about my views except that I don’t think that you can TRULY be friends with someone you hate. You are welcome to disagree. Thanks for dropping by!

  4. I like your argument for #5

  5. matttblack42 says:

    “I mean, one saves lives, and one messes up your Happy Meal. Basically the same.”

    Hey, I messed up your happy meal ONE TIME, dammit.

    That being said, i don’t really get the push for a $15 minimum wage. I mean, at my job they raised the price from 8.75 to 9.75 this year, and just that alone caused hours to be cut for the majority of the crew. So I can only imagine how much damage a raise to $15 would do. And that’s not even considering the fact that the cost of living varies quite a bit depending on which part of the country you live in.

    Though to be fair, I don’t think anyone’s suggesting that an EMT should be paid the same as a McDonalds’ worker. (Well actually there probably are some people who think that.) Presumably their wages would increase too, which is good for me because i do sort of want to be an EMT one day. But on the other hand it’s not that good for me, because basic economics.

    Also, I’m not sure I agree with you on #1. I think it’s very possible to be friends with someone of a certain race/sexuality/culture/whatever and still think negatively about that group as a whole. I think usually these people view their minority friend to be an exception to the rule. Like I once heard a guy describe a friend like, “He’s black, but not like black black, you know?” or that time a kid in my school, who frequently hangs out with a gay friend of his, told me just how disappointed and angry he’d be if his younger brother turned out to be gay. (He even talked about how he’d try to “beat the gay out of him,” believe it or not.) It didn’t seem to fit with everything else I knew about him, but, well, he was serious.

  6. matttblack42 says:

    Also, what show is that gif from? It’s definitely from a kid’s show I watched as a kid, but for the life of me I can’t remember the name of it, or what it was even about.

Talk to Me

