I Flu Home to Surprise My Family

Happy Easter everyone! In a few hours we’ll be celebrating the resurrection of our Lord and Savior. And if you’re not religious, you get to celebrate chocolate and pastel colors. Think of it as Valentine’s Day 2.0.

For me, I decided to celebrate perhaps the biggest surprise ending in history by surprising my family for Easter. Yesterday, I hitched a ride with a friend and her boyfriend back to Norfolk without telling anyone. When I got home at about 10:30 pm, I called my mom and told her to come out and give me a hug (dad was already asleep).

She was, of course, very surprised. However, her surprise was somewhat tempered by the fact that I came home rather sick.

Flu 2

I’ve been feeling kinda crappy the last two days, but by the time I got home, I had a bad cough and a fever of 102. My mom more or less immediately diagnosed me with the flu. I told her she was wrong, but we went to the doctor today, and it turns out she was right. I have Influenza A, which apparently means something to the doctor and my mom.

So now I’m trapped under house arrest in Norfolk because I feel like turd and I don’t want to contaminate anyone else. My cough is worse, my nose is running, and I hurt all over.

flu 3

I have to admit that I sort of brought this on myself. My mom told me to go get a flu shot, but I really didn’t want totally forgot to do it. So, lesson learned. I’m definitely going to be getting the shot next year, because this sucks monkey balls.

One thought on “I Flu Home to Surprise My Family

  1. That was almost EXACTLY my reaction! Mom

Talk to Me

