Why I’m Not an Atheist

First off, let me tell you what this post is not. This is not a post about why I am a Christian. That is an entirely different post, which I may or may not make some day. This post is not about bashing atheists. I have no interest in doing so, even though I may disagree with their ideas, ideals, or logic. Now that that is out of the way, let me explain why I can’t possibly be an atheist.

My first issue with atheism is one of logic and reason. I’m coming at this from the perspective that most, if not all, atheists are evolutionists. That is, they believe that all that is and was and is yet to be was the fault of some cosmic accident in the very distant past. Glossing over the problems of “if the big bang (or whatever) happened, what made it happen, and what was there before it?” why should we trust anything that we think? What even is thought? Is it just a collection of impulses in our brains that ultimately trace back to that cosmic accident? Why should that mean anything?

I realize I’m asking a lot of questions here, but that’s the problem. I can’t answer them in a way that makes any sense unless I come at it from the position that something out there transcendent and bigger than me must have set these things in motion.

My second, and perhaps biggest issue with atheism is one of morality. I have heard atheists complain that people are too quick to paint them as amoral, that they really do possess a system of morals. But, again, I am reduced to asking a question. Why? And where would these morals come from?

From nature? I certainly hope not. Nature is a “dog eat dog” world where only the strongest survive. It’s survival of the fittest in the most elementary sense of the phrase. But that’s not how our civilized societies function.

Another common idea of morals come from is the societies or communities in which we live. But, again, that doesn’t make any sense. Morality, by definition has to do with right and wrong. But of course, there have been societies at different points in history that sanctioned things that were wrong, or even evil. Shouldn’t morality be a fixed thing, like a law of nature? Gravity doesn’t change just because the winds of opinion are against it. Morality should have to do with what is true and good. Of course, you could argue that there really is no right and wrong, that nothing can really be true. Then, I could safely ignore your arguments, because, if there is no objective truth, then what you just said is completely false because I think so. You can’t prove that proofs don’t exist.

So morality, because I know that there is ultimate good and ultimate evil, must come from something other than some cosmic accident. Without God, or some sort of supernatural being, I don’t see how morality is supposed to exist in the first place. And yet, I see, or perhaps sense, that it does.

A lot of the problems I have with atheism come from fact that I can’t understand evolution. Not that I can’t understand it as a theory. I have studied what the scientists who believe in it (and don’t even try to tell me there’s no element of simple faith or belief in it) have to say about it. I get it, but I still can’t comprehend how it fits into the world I can see with my own eyes. Also, I know I said I would gloss over the whole question of the origin of the universe, but that’s a huge question mark I can’t force myself to live under. For me, it requires a whole lot more blind faith to believe that all matter and natural laws at some indefinable point far back in history just didn’t exist and then did, than it does for me to believe that a supernatural being, something or someone that transcends our understanding of reality, created them.

One thing I can tell you is that I’m not done thinking about this. I’m the kind of person that needs to question everything. I’ll probably be wrestling with these questions for the rest of my life. But for now, these issues are the main reasons that I can’t be an atheist. Even if I wasn’t a Christian, at this point in my life, I would probably lean more toward the agnostics than the atheists. If I didn’t have faith in Christ, I would most assuredly not be putting my faith in strict atheism.

P.S. I’ve been reading a lot of C.S. Lewis lately, so if you’re a Lewis fan and this sounds familiar, there’s a reason for that.

Talk to Me

