Life Update July 2015 (Sorry I’ve been missing for three months)

Hello y’all! I wanted to let you know I am not dead. I know I haven’t been on to update in a horribly long time, but I am still alive. I haven’t posted anything since March. Sorry. I’ve been a bit busy.

For starters, I had the end of my freshman year to finish up. I was still dealing with a lot of my concussion symptoms while I took finals, which is, by the way, not fun. But even with the concussion, I still did pretty well. I got all As except for one class, and I’m still not over that one. A lifelong A streak ruined by an art class… Well, graphic design, but you get the idea. Let’s just say the professor wasn’t the best… or good at teaching at all.

Whichever.

After classes were over, I had about two weeks at home before I had to fly up to Massachusetts for my summer job. During that time I went to the doctor, because my brain still wasn’t, and isn’t, working quite right. I had to get an MRI, which turned out fine, by the way. I guess I can cross “stick head in giant magnet” off my bucket list. I still have about a year of memories prior to my concussion that I just can’t remember, so I’m probably going to have to go see another doctor when I get back home. Ugh.

Anyway, summer job. I’m currently at a KOA (Kampgrounds of America) in Middleboro, Massachusetts. I am working with a ministry called Summer Shine. Basically, they send out Christian college students to random KOAs across the country to run activities for the kids and share the love of Jesus.

I’m having a blast here in the state of my birth (yes, this southerner was born in Massachusetts… in a blizzard). One thing I can say is that I didn’t expect so much of a culture shock, but things really are very different in the North versus in the South. Basically, I never want to live in any state above Virginia, ever. Give me South Carolina any day.

Not everything is roses and fun here, though. We’ve all had a lot of trials. The people are very different here, and some of them can be hard to love, but that’s one thing we’re all getting a lesson in this summer.

I finally got a chance to get into the city of Boston yesterday. We’re only about 45 minutes to an hour away. One of the girls on my team and I walked the entire Freedom Trail. It’s about 5 miles to walk the whole thing and then walk back, but it’s totally worth it if you’re a big history buff like me. Most of the sites along the route were free, with the exception of Paul Revere’s house, the Old South Meeting Hall, and the Old State House. I did pay the three bucks to go in Paul Revere’s house, but I wasn’t willing to pay 10 bucks or more for the other two. I was kinda bummed out on that account, because I wanted to see those in particular, but it was okay. My favorite part was probably either the printing shop or the Bunker Hill Monument.

That’s about it up till now. If you’re the praying type, I ask that you pray for mine and all of the Summer Shine ministries across the country. I know we’re not the only ones having a hard time sometimes.

Hopefully I remember to post again before 3 months go by again. No promises, though. 

3 thoughts on “Life Update July 2015 (Sorry I’ve been missing for three months)

  1. Hey, Susannah! I’m sorry to hear about your concussion–I’ve had a few students with similar experiences and saw how difficult it was for them. I will keep you in my thoughts! Meanwhile–I’m glad to hear that you’re having great adventures this summer. 🙂

Talk to Me

