Postmodernism… Well, it’s Just Stupid

Over the last few years, I’ve learned quite a bit about postmodernism, and may I just say, it is the most utterly stupid idea I’ve ever heard. Seriously, I’ve heard a lot of stupid idea, such as, “Let’s fence with PVC pipes. Nothing could possibly go wrong,” but this one takes the cake.

The basic premise of postmodernism is that truth is created by human beings. There is no divine originator of truth, so truth must necessarily be relative. It is a fundamental rejection of any idea of absolute truth. Now, nice though it might sound to say, “What’s true for you isn’t true for me,” it just doesn’t make sense.
For starters, the statement, “There are no absolutes,” is an absolute in and of itself. There cannot be both no absolutes and a statement that they don’t exist. It’s a contradiction. In fact, if you’re truly trying to live as a postmodernist, you’d have to be mute. And stupid. These people literally couldn’t say anything because even untruths are absolutes. Seriously, “I’m hungry” is an absolute.

The second reason postmodernism is stupid is because it has completely changed the definition of the word “tolerance.” Basically, the old definition was that I could respect you as a human being, but I don’t have to agree with, or even like, your opinions. Now, with the postmodernist ideas that everyone’s opinions are equally true and equally valid, “tolerance” means that I have to agree that everything you’re saying is true. That’s entirely the opposite of the traditional idea of tolerance. But again, it contradicts itself.

If you’ve ever really put any thought into people who call others intolerant, you’ve probably realized, they are intolerant by both the old and new definitions. They are intolerant by the old definition because they have been reduced to insulting their opponents for their opinions, which violates the respect part of the old tolerance. But they also violate the rules (however impossible to follow) of the new tolerance. As a Christian, it is my view that Muslims are wrong about how to get to heaven. If someone else says that I am being intolerant because I say that someone else’s view is incorrect, then they are necessarily wrong. All views are equally valid, right? So how am I being intolerant? I’m only expressing my view, which is just as right as the view of the person calling me names (by their definition), and for that matter, the Muslim, who would say the same thing that I did. If anything, they’re the ones being intolerant… But then again all views are true, so… no one can be intolerant. It’s confusing, right? Incredibly contradictory? I know!!! Trying telling that to the next person you hear calling someone intolerant and enjoy the steam that comes out of their ears.

Okay, rant over. I want to know what you guys think about this. Have you ever put any real thought into this, or am I just weird?

*For more thoughts on tolerance, click here for one of my Silly Word Series posts.

***

My post tomorrow will be on something… I haven’t decided yet. Honestly, you’re just lucky you got something today. I had my first final and a massive video project to work on. The next few weeks aren’t going to get any less busy. I can’t even tell you how much I am looking forward to Christmas break. A whole month of nothing to do. What am I going to do with myself?

See y’all tomorrow!

Talk to Me

