Why Do I Have to Take This???

Why is it that liberal arts colleges, like the one I go to, have to force you to take classes that you don’t want to take? I mean, I get the Bible classes. I go to a Christian university. It makes sense that they would want to make us take Bible classes, and quite honestly, I’ve enjoyed the one I’ve taken. But then there’s classes like University 101.

I figure most colleges probably make students take a similar course. Basically it consists of an introduction to the college and all of the stuff you can do there, a talk or two on study skills (because apparently some people are able to escape high school without learning how to study), a long discussion on plagiarism, and other useless stuff I learned in high school. Perhaps this class is actually useful for certain people, but I find that most of my classmates hate the class and find it useless. It’s even more useless for me because I’ve already been doing college for four semesters. At the very least I wish there was some way to test out of the class, especially if you’re a transfer student.

The other class I didn’t want to take this semester is PSYC 150, AKA Psychology of Relationships. Now this class is just full of stuff I don’t want to talk about. I know there are some people out there that love to learn all about the reasons that people do what they do, but I am not one of those people. I don’t really want to go around prying open people’s brains to figure out how they tick. I just want to learn about a person as I go along and not assume that someone is a particular way just because of something I found out about them. Why can’t we all just leave each other’s brains alone?!

And then there was today’s class. When they told us last week that they would be splitting up the guys and the girls, we all knew what was going to happen. I’m not going to go into detail, because nobody, not even the people in the class, needs that. Basically, we got lectured on the birds and the bees for an entire class period. It was awkward. The students thought it was awkward. The professors thought it was awkward. The GAs thought it was awkward. I really can’t think of anything that is more awkward than this class. As an awkward person myself, that’s saying something.

I know this post makes it seem like I hate school, but I am actually greatly enjoying most of my classes. Next semester looks like a lot more fun than this one, so I’m looking forward to it. I’ll be taking a screenwriting class!

***

I’m sorry about not posting the last few days. I had a quiz bowl tournament this past weekend, so I didn’t have time to do anything. This post will bring us back to our regularly scheduled drivel. Tomorrow’s post will be on my thoughts on postmodernism.

See y’all tomorrow!

4 thoughts on “Why Do I Have to Take This???

  1. At least it’s over, and you can tell them what you think about it!

  2. I’m sorry for the bad classes they’re requiring you to take! I had one that was epically bad–Expository Writing or “Expos” as nicknamed by Rutgers students. It was our introductory writing course in which we had to read this terrible compilation book of essays about the humanities and write essays about it. I.E.–we were writing terrible essays about terrible essays and the grading was so subjective it hurt. I really loved most of my college courses, too. I’m an English major, but classes on art history, astronomy, and philosophy were a blast!

Talk to Me

