My TBR

Today, I’m going to share part of my TBR list. TBR, by the way, means To Be Read. Essentially, it’s a list of books and/or book series that I greatly want to read. This is by no means a complete list, mind you. You’re going to notice a few things as you look at my TBR list. First—and I know this is a little odd—a lot of these are classics. Some of these, I became interested because of quiz bowl, but most of them, I am just curious about. Another thing you’ll notice is that I actually own a few of the books on my list. If you’re wondering why I haven’t read them yet, it’s pretty simple. I don’t have any time. A lot of these, I’m going to try to read over the summer when I actually have time to read.

Without further ado and in no particular order, my TBR list:

1. A Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

I’ve wanted to read this one for a long time now. I read Fahrenheit 451 last year and 1984 a few years before. I love that style of dystopic, mid-1900s fiction. I’ve also heard a few snippets from the book that absolutely fascinate me. I have a friend that owns this book, so I’ll probably be able to read it soon.

2. Illusion by Frank Peretti

I’ve pretty much read every Peretti fiction book (with the notable exception of Tilly), so obviously I want to read this one too. I also find the blurb on the back of the book to reveal a very interesting plotline that I’m looking forward to reading. Peretti, by the way is my favorite author.

3. The Divine Comedy by Dante Alighieri

This one comes up A LOT in quiz bowl. It’s an epic poem written in the 14th century, so it might be tricky to read. However, I’m curious, so this one makes the list.

4. Children of Hurin by J.R.R. Tolkien (owned)

As you can see, I do actually have this book. Unfortunately, the time that it came to me was not a time that I wanted to read any more about the children of Hurin. My godparents bought me this one right after I finished reading The Silmarilian, also by Tolkien. The children of Hurin were messed up. However, I do finally want to read it, if only to say that I’ve read everything on my shelf.

5. Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand (owned)

I’ve actually read about a 3rd of Atlas Shrugged. I got a bit bored reading through it the first time, but I do eventually want to finish it.

6. The Michael Vey Series Richard Paul Evans

I’d heard of this series before, but I had never had a chance to read it before. This summer, however, I checked out the first two from the library. I thought they were very interesting and a ton of fun, so I’ll be getting more of those as soon as I can.

7. Eye of Moloch by Glenn Beck

I first read The Overton Window a few years ago and I couldn’t wait until the next one came out. It… took a while. But Eye of Moloch is finally out and I really want to read it. It’s been out a while, but it was too expensive to buy at first. If I remember, I’ll probably pick this one up the next time I’m at Barnes and Noble.

8. Bleak House by Charles Dickens (owned)

Like Atlas Shrugged, I have actually read this one a bit. Like a lot of Dickens works, it’s a bit slow, but I still want to force myself to finish it someday.

9. Exposure by Kathy Reichs

I picked up the first three of the Virals series at my library at home and I loved them! I definitely want the next one, and I’ll keep reading them until Kathy Reichs stops writing them. Fun fact: if you didn’t know, Kathy Reichs’s books are the ones that the TV show Bones is based off of.

Like I said before, this is definitely not a full TBR list for me. In fact, I left off a couple of books just to avoid putting the same author on there twice. One fun fact about myself before I go: there is one book that I tried to read that I absolutely refuse to finish. That book is Walden by Henry David Thoreau. If you can avoid it, don’t read it. It literally put me to sleep.

The post tomorrow will be on how an introvert can survive at a big university.

See y’all tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “My TBR

  1. junior says:

    Yeah, it’s been a while since this post was made. But I feel like commenting anyway.

    Brave New World is, in my opinion, more likely – and more pernicious – than its better-known dystopian cousin, 1984. Very much worth a read. The setting of Fahrenheit 451 probably has more in common with it than with 1984, even if F451 didn’t take things to the same extreme that BNW did.

    Divine Comedy – A lot of people have read ‘Inferno’. Not very many people read the other two acts. Interestingly, Larry Niven and Jerry Pournelle wrote a book called ‘Inferno’ that basically dumps a modern author (presumably sci-fi or fantasy, though it doesn’t really matter) in Dante’s Inferno, with a more modern set of sinners being punished there.

    Children of Hurin – Essentially the same depressing story that’s found in The Silmarillion. Worth a read, but no happy endings here. Just lots of pride, and the inevitable results of such. After you finish, you should go back to The Silmarillion and read the more upbeat story of Turin’s cousin, Tuor.

    • I totally agree on A Brave New World. I finally read it over break, and I have to say it certainly seems more likely. Scary, though. 1984 was a little better written, if memory serves (an I was 12, I think, so it’s possible that it wouldn’t). Huxley seems to believe that we would destroy ourselves, while Orwell thinks the government will. Personally, I think it will be a combination of them both. Fahrenheit 451 was the best read out of the three.

      Huh, Inferno (the modern one) sounds like a decent read. I might have to add it to the list.

      Thanks for the read and for the comment! Makes my day every time.

Talk to Me

