Say Cheese

I’ve been having a lot of problems with my roommates since I got to college. I’m really not sure why, but they never seemed to like me. Well, long story short, everything finally came to a head last week and I moved rooms this Friday. I’m feeling immeasurably better, so I wanted to share some poetry I wrote last week when I realized that I needed to change rooms.

Say Cheese!

They say that if you smile,
You start to feel it on the inside.
Well, I don’t know who “they” are,
But they’re full of it.
Because right now I’m smiling,
But it’s not stopping the tears
From streaming down my cheeks.
I can’t even hide the pain anymore,
So what’s the point in trying?
It’s been so long since I’ve felt safe,
I don’t know what I’ll do,
When I can feel it again.
But I take hope,
Because I’ll be out of this Hell soon.
I can almost see the silver lining
In these dark, forbidding clouds.
I can almost feel a real smile forming.
So maybe there’s something to this
Smiling through the pain, after all.

P.S. By the way, I wanted to let you all know that I will be posting every day in November as I take part in NaBloPoMo (National Blog Post Month, the blog version of NaNoWriMo). You’re all about to be seeing a lot more of me!

3 thoughts on “Say Cheese

  1. I am so sorry you went through that, and I am so glad it’s over!

  2. ginjuh says:

    Character-building stuff; hang in there!

Talk to Me

