S’no More Snow Days!

First of all. Sorry I haven’t been keeping up my blog much. I’ve been running all over the place to scholarship interviews and stuff. Seriously, I have six weeks of scholarship competitions. Hopefully I’ll be able to knock someone’s socks off and win something.

But that’s not really what I wanted to talk about. I wanted to talk about the massive amount of snow we’ve gotten recently. If you’ve been paying attention to the weather, you’ve noticed that the southern East Coast has been getting hammered (relatively speaking anyway; we’re not used to this weather). Last Tuesday, we got 5 or 6 inches of snow in Norfolk. It was nice for about three seconds. By this Tuesday, we Virginians were kind of tired of snow. And then it snowed again. This time it dumped about a foot of the puffy white crap on us.

The only upside I can think of right now is that I figured out the snow threshold that forces the college I’m dual-enrolled at to close. Apparently, six inches with the roads iced over is not it. Literally everything else was closed, but no, not my school. My mom and I were slipping and sliding all over the road, trying to get to class on time. Needless to say, I was thrilled to find they’d closed this time when there was twice the snow.

After spending a blisteringly cold day at a scholarship competition at Randolph-Macon College last weekend, I decided something. Namely, snow is not refreshing. Ice cold lemonade is refreshing in the heat of summer. Sprite is refreshing any time of the year. A dip in a cool lake on a hot summer day is refreshing. Constant, bone-chilling cold and freezing white crap sticking to your nose from the moment you step outside is not refreshing. It’s just cold. And miserable.

I hope the rest of you are having better weather. On the plus side, I’m in South Carolina where it’s a bit warmer than my house. I anticipate that there should be just enough half melted snow to make a few very icy snowballs to throw at my sister by the time I get back.

7 thoughts on “S’no More Snow Days!

  1. Austin says:

    Awww…you got a little snow did ya? Now you know how I feel every day for 5 months! You’ll survive. 🙂

  2. I really like this post, and I sympathize! It’s raining now, so the snow is melting! But I can’t wait for spring!

  3. Aussa Lorens says:

    I was wondering what had happened to ya. A little worried maybe Glenn Beck gobbled you up. Good luck with your scholarship applications, don’t forget to mention your bowstaff spear thing!

Talk to Me

