My Morning

Little Miss Muffet

Sat on a tuffet,

Eating her curds and whey;

Along came a spider,

Who sat down beside her

And frightened Miss Muffet away.

I am Little Miss Muffet.

Yeah, that’s something I never thought I’d say. I woke up early this morning with a raging cold (that’s what I get for volunteering to help homeless people and to help put an engine in a sailboat in 35 degree weather). To add insult to injury a spider decided to crash my pity party this morning. Admittedly, I was eating boiled eggs and not curds and whey (whatever that is), and I was sitting in bed and on a tuffet (whatever that is), but the rest of the poem holds true. This little bugger just dropped down from my ceiling to say hello. I immediately shouted for the only member of my family in possession of a Y chromosome to come take care of it. He did and I went back to my bed to finish my breakfast. Looking back on it, I feel kind of bad about killing my little arachnid intruder. He wasn’t really hurting me; he was just hanging out. But he did make me squirm for an hour afterward in anticipation of further creepy-crawlies, so maybe I don’t feel so bad.

After that, I finished a murder mystery (An English Murder by Cyril Hare). I started another book, but soon I was too tired, and I went back to sleep. Throughout the morning, I woke up sporadically and heard my family preparing to go to church. I did try to get up, but it didn’t really work. When I finally did get up, it was only because I had to use the facilities. My mom took my temperature and I’m at 102, so that’s not cool (haha, I made a funny). I’ve been spending the rest of my morning watching TV shows on Netflix, the sick person’s best friend. Now Netflix isn’t working quite right, so I’m writing a blog post. Later, I have to do some sort of school thing for my Regent University class that starts tomorrow (public speaking, ugh!). I hope your Sunday morning is going better than mine.

5 thoughts on “My Morning

  1. Aussa Lorens says:

    Boo, I’m sorry you’re sick. Hopefully you get to feeling better soon.
    The spider thing is the worst. Those buggers are bad enough without having TO FALL DOWN FROM THE SKY. This has only happened to me once, when I opened a closet door and the thing just came flying down to murder me– I too screamed my head off, but there were no members of the opposite sex to rescue me.
    Enjoy that Netflix and heal up soon, Susannah.

  2. I love the way you put things: “I immediately shouted for the only member in my family with a Y chromosome…” 🙂

Talk to Me

