Write for My Magazine! (You know you want to)

You probably don’t know this, because I’m pretty sure that I’ve never mentioned it on the blog, but I started a literary magazine a few months ago. It’s called Estuary. At first, it was just supposed to be for high school students, which worked well for approximately one issue. I don’t quite have enough (okay, I don’t have nearly enough) content to justify putting out a new issue, but I’d really like to. In light of that, I’ve decided to open the magazine up to people of all ages. I wanted to write about this on my blog because I know I have a bunch of awesomely talented people who follow me. I’d like to give you guys a chance to write for Estuary.

Let me give you a bit more information. First and foremost, I’m not going to pay you. Sorry. Estuary is a free magazine that I digitally distribute through an e-mail attachment. The magazine in its current format has several categories.

Poet Garden– This is the first section in the magazine. Basically, it’s exactly what it sounds like; a place for poetry. I currently have one poem in there, and it’s mine, so I am badly in need of content for this section.

Our Opinions– This is one of the most fun sections and the only one that has a topic. This section is for debating and arguing. Like I said, fun. The topic for this issue is “Global Warming: Fact or Fake.” If you like writing the occasion persuasive essay, this section is for you. I really don’t care what your opinion is on the subject, so don’t think you’re going to offend me. The point of this section is to get all sides of the argument. I don’t have any articles for this one yet, so you’ve got a great chance of being in the magazine if you decide to write something. In case you were wondering, the topic for the last one was “Evolution vs. Creationism.” It was lively to say the least.

In the News– This is the current affairs section. I’ll accept any articles about things that are happening now. For example, articles about the current situation in Egypt are just as welcome as articles about which celebrity recently became pregnant. This issue will be coming out in late January or early February, so keep that in mind. I’ve actually never been able to use this section because in the last issue, no one wrote anything for it.

Story Corner– One of my favorite sections. This one is for short stories. All of the ones I have right now are serialized. Try to keep the stories relatively short, because this is a popular section. I have a few stories already, but I wouldn’t mind a few more.

The Gallery– This is the artwork/photography section. Well, it should be the artwork/photography section, but all I got last issue was photography. At least it was beautiful photography. However, this issue, I’m looking for more artwork. This can mean paintings, drawings, sculptures (pictures of them, anyway), and more. I’ll also accept more photography, but understand that I’m going to give more preference to any non-photo artwork that is sent in. I think I have around three pictures for this section so far.

Review– This section is for reviewing anything that you’ve seen, read, or played. I’ll accept book reviews, movie reviews, TV show reviews, and game reviews. This is another section that I wasn’t able to use last issue because of lack of interest.

Hobby Shop– This one is about all of the things you do. Your hobbies, interests, sports. It could be writing, stamp collecting, biking, knitting, anything. Just write about what you like to do. Pretty simple. I don’t have anything for this section yet, so you got a good chance of being in the magazine if you choose you write.

Talk to Me– This is the section for letters and comments that people have written about the magazine and the articles inside it. Obviously, I couldn’t put this section in my last issue since it was the first one. If you’re interested in starring in this section, you’ll have to read the magazine first. I’ll explain that in a second.

Alright, that’s all of the sections in Estuary. If you are interested in writing or sending in artwork for the magazine, just e-mail me at estuarymag@cox.net and I’ll send you the guidelines for submission. If you’re interested in receiving a free copy of the last magazine or having your name added to the e-mail list, email me at the address above. Also, please, please, please share this with people you think might be interested. I really need the submissions.

P.S. Go like the magazine’s Facebook page while you’re at it: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Estuary-Magazine/507798772623505?ref=hl

Talk to Me

