What I’d Like to Say

Open your eyes.

It’s not that hard.

You’d think I was asking

For your bank card.

 

You like to think that you’re smart,

And you’re above all of us.

When I call out your friends,

You’re like, “What’s the fuss?”

 

You say that I’m wrong

When I show you the facts.

When you get scared,

It’s just attack, attack, attack.

 

You like to call me names

Like this is some game,

Like if you say it enough,

It’ll just go away.

 

You say I’m ignorant,

But the ignorant one is you.

I really can’t blame you;

It’s what you were raised to do.

Ignorance isn’t a state of mind;

It’s a state of being.

You shouldn’t use words

When you don’t know their meanings.

 

You like to sit in the dark

And wonder if I’m right,

So why don’t you open your eyes

And turn on the lights?

2 thoughts on “What I’d Like to Say

  1. I have a quote hanging in my classroom that says, “Say what you mean and mean what you say.” I think that the fifth stanza of your poem says it so much better. 🙂

  2. Thank you. That wasn’t meant to be one long one by the way.

Talk to Me

