Silly Words Series: #1 Slut-shaming

As a lover of writing, I run across a lot of words. Some of these words, though, are just plain silly. Therefore, I’ve decided to do a series called the Silly Words Series (oh yeah, I’m creative). These are words that have lost their meaning or maybe don’t mean what they should. I’d love to hear your thoughts on these words.

#1. Slut-shaming

What it supposedly means:

A derogatory term used to imply that someone should be ashamed of implying that a promiscuous woman/girl should be ashamed of her actions.

Why it’s silly:

I have to tell you, I am really tired of hearing this dumb term. The only time it is ever used is to criticize someone for standing up for what they believe in. I mean, when did principles become a bad thing? Why is it so bad for me to believe that people shouldn’t aim to show every possible bit of skin and then dance provocatively?

I actually hadn’t even heard of this word before the whole Miley Cyrus VMA (teddy bear molesting, foam finger assaulting, twerking) thing happened. I think nearly everyone’s gut reaction (including mine) was disgust after watching the performance for the first time. Many began to criticize Miley Syphilis—I mean Cyrus—for what she did on that stage.

But then, they came. The feminists and those who were proud of her for “embracing her sexuality.” They wanted to make sure to accuse anyone who thought that perhaps Miley could have been a little bit more, dare I say it, conservative, of slut-shaming. They thought that it was perfectly fine for a 20-year-old to grind her rump into the crotch of a grown man.

I don’t know about you, but I don’t feel too bad for saying that Miley should act more mature, that maybe she should act like a role model for the young girls who (unfortunately) still idolize her for her Hannah Montana days. I don’t think that that amounts to “slut-shaming.” I’m not trying to be rude, but is it possible that maybe she should be a little ashamed for acting like a… well, you know.

 

P.S. You’ll probably be happy to know that my Word processor doesn’t recognize “twerking” as a word.

P.P.S. I’m also not condoning what Robin Thicke did. Just because I didn’t mention him doesn’t mean I approve of his part in this. It just wasn’t my topic for this post.

Talk to Me

