…And God is God

I usually try to distance myself from arguments concerning gay marriage. I mean this literally. As long as gays are not bothering me and they aren’t trying to force something on me, I don’t care what they do with each other. However, after having my Facebook news stream assaulted by pro-gay-rights advocates, they are starting to bother me. Therefore, this post shall sum up, in a nutshell, my views on gay marriage.

First, I want to stress that I will mainly talk about gay marriage from a Biblical perspective. I don’t want to mention the Constitutionality of the issue. I don’t believe in the first place that courts should have the right to regulate marriage. I want to explain why Christians should not back gay marriage. It shocks me that Christians can even consider supporting gay marriage. Homosexuality in general goes against the Bible in every way.

Let me begin there with a simple question. Did you know that many people are unaware that homosexuality is a sin? A recent survey from Nashville based LifeWay Research asked people if they believed that homosexual behavior is a sin. An astonishing 45% said no. 37% said that is was, and 17% said that they just didn’t know. Perhaps these numbers are not quite as astonishing as they look, given the decline in moral values this country has been going through. However, no matter what the public may think, the Bible is very clear on this issue.

The Bible states many times throughout the New and Old Testament that being gay is an immoral and unnatural sin. Don’t believe me. Look it up for yourself. Leviticus 18:22 calls it an “abomination.” In Roman 1:26-27, Paul warns that men and women who give up “natural relations” will receive “due penalty.” 1 Corinthians 6:9 also mentions homosexuality. It is very clear to me and hopefully to anyone who wishes to study the Bible on this issue that God deems homosexuality as aberrant and wicked.

My next point is on the subject of marriage. Many do not think that it matters one way or the other whether gays or lesbians marry or not. However, Christians should know that marriage is sacred as stated in Hebrews 13:4. Although the Bible never directly addresses the concept of gay marriage, it does make it very clear that marriage should be between a man and a woman. Verses such as Ephesians 5:23-33 always speak of a man and his wife, not a man and his partner. If anyone were to upset that dynamic, his or her actions would be considered sinful. On a more logical basis, I believe that if God had intended for gays and lesbians to marry, then He would have given Adam a choice. Instead, he gave him Eve, a woman. If God had meant for gays to marry, He would have made it so that a man and a man could procreate, but they can’t and neither can a woman and a woman. Men and women were made purposefully to complement and to need each other.

One defense I’ve heard for gay marriage is that it is wrong to not allow them the same rights. However, homosexuals do actually have the same rights under a civil union, which is not marriage. They are not harmed in any way by not being married. I have personally been told that not letting them marry is discrimination. How can it be discrimination if they have the exact same rights as a married couple? Many have likened the fight for gay marriage to the Civil Rights Movement of the 60s. However, the movements are very different. I disagree with gay marriage on religious principle, not because they are any particular race. There was no logical, or more importantly, Biblical reason for denying that blacks could marry each other or whites. In fact the Bible supports interracial marriages. For example, Moses married a Cushite (Ethiopian) woman. If I had been alive in 1967 when the Supreme Court ruled that blacks could marry whites, I would have cheered.

I have also heard that it is detrimental to the feelings of gays and lesbians that can’t marry. They say that “love is love,” and no one should stand in the way. The best response I’ve heard to this came from one of my friends. He said, “And God is God.” This means that feelings are not important if God deems an action a sin.

One gay-rights advocate told me that I shouldn’t care whether they sinned or not, because it wasn’t my sin. My response was, “Are you kidding me?” If we say that it doesn’t matter if other people sin, it’s just like saying it’s okay for other people to sin. If it was okay to sin, then there would be no reason to outlaw murder. Sinning is wrong. If we accepted that sinning was okay, then we could theoretically be perfect, and the Bible states that “All have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God.” If we were perfect, then we would never have needed Jesus to save us and that he did not need to die on the cross. Saying that sinning is fine is the same as saying that Christ’s death was in vain.

I’d like to end this monologue on a thoughtful note. I believe that we should be careful to be respectful when discussing this topic with someone who does not believe the same as we do (if you agree with me). Although the Bible states that homosexuality is a sin, it also teaches us that we have to love our neighbors. This topic and others like it can bring out strong feelings that are hard to suppress. We must learn to make our point without name-calling or being rude. As I recently learned, the best way to argue is to pick a topic you feel strongly about and argue as if you didn’t. This means staying professional and cordial on the outside no matter how worked up you get on the inside.

9 thoughts on “…And God is God

  1. James H says:

    Did you not consider that the 45% of people who think gay marriage isn’t a sin and the 17% who “aren’t sure” could simply not be religious? You immediately attribute it to a lack of modern morality because you cannot place yourself in another’s shoes to consider that there are other viewpoints than your own.

    To someone who doesn’t believe the world was created by a god who magicked his word down to priests and scribes to write it down and use as a primer for morality, gay marriage isn’t a sin.

    • susie962013 says:

      Dear James,

      Of course I considered that many of those people are not religious. I understand their viewpoints just fine, thank you. Personally, I consider them to be wrong. It is actually possible for one to understand another person’s view without agreeing with it. I think that widespread support for gay marriage is a symptom of moral decay. That is my view. You may disagree with it if you like, and that is okay.

      Quite honestly, that is beside the point. This post was not a discussion on modern morality. It was a lecture on how Christians should view gay marriage. Anyone is welcome to disagree with me on that point, but offering red herrings as you did is not conducive to a decent argument of the point I made in my post. Of course, I recognize that offering a decent argument may not have been your intentions, and that’s okay.

      Finally, I will not approve any future comments you make unless you can do so without being insulting. THAT is not okay. As a general rule, you should make sure you know what you’re talking about before posting replies. Christians do not believe in “magic.” To say that we do is demeaning, and quite simply rude. We believe that the Bible was written the good old-fashioned way: people saw it happen, and they wrote it down. Do your research next time.

  2. mondison says:

    I saw your comment on another blog about homosexuality and Christianity. And in no way is my purpose to demean not insult you. I believe I read that you are 17, that was my favorite age and so far one of the best years of my life. It was also an age were I was extremely headstrong and sure of myself whether I was right or wrong– not much has changed. My question for you was whether you have researched the bible in ways other than just reading and believing bible verses? I respect that you believe so wholeheartedly in something, I believe that is an admirable trait. But the way you use bible verses (actually the way a lot of people use bible verses) it seems like the very basic of knowledge. For instance you are right about the procreation, that is a fundamental teaching of not so much the philosophy of Christianity but the religious principles of Christianity. But you need to be aware of its historical reference. You always need to be aware of the actual history of something. An important thing you need to also be aware of is t amounts of translations and versions the bible had taken on. Different books that are not included in the bible too. Did you know that in the bible slavery was socially acceptable, that women were second class citizens? That our religious stories include men who basically had harems? All of these were social norms of the time. The Old Testament is filled with rules dictated to the Jews so they could set themselves apart from other tribes. Did you know that Christianity was very political that only certain texts were chosen to form a bible? One sect won out, a church was formed and then it branche out into many different Christian religions- each choosing hat texts they thought most important?. To me, as a woman baptized catholic, brought up by a village of people all with different religious an spiritual beliefs that only tells me one thing god is full of love and acceptance. Acceptance for all. It is not and never will be my place to judge and sometimes I’ll make mistakes but that’s what forgiveness is about. The god I was taught about didn’t and doesn’t really care who screws who, he’s got far mores hints to be concerned with. Really put in the time and research into the history of Christianity. It’ll be good for you, you’ll learn so many amazing things. If it’s meant to it’ll bring you closer to god and closer to your faith. And you’ll be able to argue do much better than you can already. You’ll be able to use historical references which make your beliefs more reliable.

    • Wow, that was a long comment. Short answer to most of your questions: yes. And to some no. I know that I am young and that I have a lot to learn. I look forward to the years to come where I can grow and learn more. Thank you for your comment and for being polite. Some do not always pay me that courtesy.

  3. We have really different views about this topic, but I appreciate your post because to put it plainly you stated what you felt without attacking or being sanctimonious (at least in my eyes). I just tend to stop listening/reading when someone acts like that (regardless of their point of view). So, first of all thank you for that…regardless of your age, that’s very rare these days.

    But secondly, have you ever seen this documentary called Fish Out of Water? It discusses the Bible and homosexuality. Admittedly it’s a “pro-gay” film I guess, but deeply biblical too. Not trying to sway you ot anything, but it’s just another perspective. Check it out if you get a chance, would love to hear your thoughts.
    Here’s a link to the film’s page: http://www.fishoutofwaterfilm.com/

    • Yes, I’ve seen it, and I don’t agree with it. Thank you though for reading this. I agree with you that one of the rudest things a person can do is to automatically attack someone they don’t agree with. They don’t understand that they’ll never get someone to agree with them if they don’t give that person respect.

  4. Your post is very inspiring. Keep it up and don’t let others put you down for your age. “Let no man despise thy youth; but be thou an example of the believers, in word, in conversation, in charity, in spirit, in faith, in purity.” (1Tim 4:12)

    Also, as others have pointed out, there are some things in the Bible that are not directly applicable today (eg. stoning), but the principles behind it all is the same, because God is the same for all eternity, Alpha and Omega, beginning and end. God is love, yes, but God is holy and God is the righteous judge – which is why he cannot accept homosexuality. “What? know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost which is in you, which ye have of God, and ye are not your own? For ye are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s.” (1 Cor 6:19-20) All other sins we commit outside, but ones of sexual immorality defile the temple of God.

    Finally, I am glad you pointed out that last bit about how much sin matters. In fact, “Let him know, that he which converteth the sinner from the error of his way shall save a soul from death, and shall hide a multitude of sins.” (Jas 5:20) The sins of others matter to us, because we want them to be saved. God bless.

  5. […] not a government authorized contract. If you’re interested in learning more about my views, click here. I, along with most Christians, also do not hate gay people. “Hate the sin; love the sinner,” […]

Talk to Me

