Justin Bieber, Disney, and an Atmosphere of Immaturity

I’m honestly not all that into celebrities. They depress me. In addition, I believe that ruthlessly finding out everything about their lives is a form of mass stalking and is quite simply, a little creepy. That said, I think most of us have noticed the pathetic way that teen “heartthrob” Justin Bieber has been acting. He’s been throwing tantrums, playing video games when he should be working, and generally acting like he’s four years old.

Now, all of this cannot possibly be just because he got dumped by his girlfriend. If it is, it’s sad, but somewhat understandable. However, I think it’s more than that. Although I don’t wish to excuse his behavior, I’d like to point out that he is still a kid. He’s only nineteen. I think the main problem with him is that he’s been thrown into a world in which he doesn’t yet belong. He’s not mature enough to deal with the fame and fortune that fate and millions of disillusioned teenage girls have bestowed on him.

I look at Justin Bieber in much the same way that I look at these new starlets on Disney channel: with pity. I remember watching Hannah Montana (mostly when I couldn’t wrestle the remote from my sister) and thinking that Miley Cyrus could be a great role model for young girls if she tried. But even when the show first started and she was still basically innocent, I was almost positive that she would never become a good role model. When you send a child into an industry where they are made out to be gods, it does something to their heads.

I have always told my family that I have never wanted to be famous. I don’t think I could handle it. Rich? Yes. I like the security of tons of money. Famous and being chased by paparazzi 24/7? Absolutely not. Part of this philosophy springs from growing up watching Disney shows. Eventually, after watching a show for a long time, I always became interested in the actors as people, and I researched them. More often than not, they were basically good people until they turned… oh, about seventeen, when they usually began to self-destruct. So many child actors grow up to become everything they stood against when they were younger. They seem to have few morals and a superiority complex that could reach the moon.

I believe this metamorphosis occurs because they are ill equipped to exist in the real world. They have always been spoiled and even revered by their peers. They have been taught since an early age that they can do no wrong. Excuses are made for every bad thing they do for the sake of publicity of a monolithic entertainment organization. They are shaped into people dependent upon the praise of others, and when that constant praise is taken away for any reason (fans reacting badly to a song, the end of a series, etc.), they go to extreme and monumental lengths to win it back.

I also feel that these people are dangerous not only to themselves, but to their fans and especially their younger ones. This is because, like it or not, they do become role models. Small children do not understand why their models are acting the way they are, but because they are famous, the children assume that it is all right, and even worse, popularly accepted. Therefore, they begin to believe that they too are allowed to do as they please and no harm will come to them or anyone else because of it. After all, their favorite celebrities are still rich and famous despite the stupid and juvenile stunts they’ve pulled. This creates a hazardous atmosphere of over-privileged immaturity to grow up in.

Admittedly, if your child’s favorite celebrity was Lindsey Lohan, you don’t have to worry as much. Her life is a perfect example of what is waiting when teen celebrities think they are above the law and the rest of us. They just might end up disrespected, in and out of jail, and broke.

Talk to Me

